Skip Navigation
Welcome to Holland, Massachusetts
Photos of Holland
This table is used for column layout.
On Our Site
Town Directory
Online Payments
Meeting Calendar
Forms and Documents
Frequently Asked Questions
Useful Sites
Send Us Comments
Subscribe to News
Lake Information

Search Our Site
Site  This Folder

Copy: Frequently Asked Questions

Where do I pay my tax bills?
You can pay your tax in one of four ways.
1) By mailing a copy of the tax bill and a check or money order to Collector, Holland Town Hall, 27 Sturbridge Road, Holland,  MA 01521.  
2)  In Person at the Tax Collector's office located on the first floor of the Holland Town Hall, 27 Sturbridge Road, Holland, MA 01521. Office hours are Monday 9-12 & 1-4, Tuesday 9 to 12 & 1 to 2, the 4th Tuesday evening 6-7, Wednesday 9-12 & 1-2.  The Town Hall is closed on Friday.
3) There is a drop-off mail box located at the side entrance of the Town Hall where residents may drop off tax payments.  Payments left in the box will be credited the next business day.  Please do not put cash in the drop box!   

Why is my Real Estate and/or Personal Property tax bill still in the former owners’ name?
Massachusetts general law requires that the tax bills must be sent to the owner of record as of January 1st of the previous year. This means if your deed was recorded after January 1, 2015, the fiscal year 2016 tax bill would be in the former owner’s name since they were the owner of record as of January 1, 2015.   In many cases this bill will be sent to or forwarded to the former owner if an in-care-of has not been added to the tax bill.  All address changes are handled in the Assessor's Office.  Please make sure the Assessor’s office has your correct mailing information.

I did not receive a tax bill why should I have to pay late charges?
You should retrieve a copy of your tax bill at Town Hall to avoid late payment penalties. Massachusetts law states that the failure to receive a tax bill does not invalidate the tax, nor does is invalidate the proceedings for collection which includes late charges.

I don’t think that my tax bill is accurate – what should I do?
You have 30 days from the date of issue of the first actual tax bill and/or Personal Property tax bills to file for an abatement (usually February 1st) with the Board of Assessors.  You have 30 days from the date of issue of an excise tax bill to pay the tax without penalty.  You can file for an abatement of an excise tax with the Board of Assessor’s within three years after the excise was due or within one year after the excise was paid, whichever is later.  The Tax Collector cannot change or adjust your tax bill.   You should pay the tax bill on-time to avoid late fees and additional charges.  Any adjustment of the tax would be refunded to you.   

Why was I charged interest and fees on my Real Estate and/or Personal Property tax?
Interest will be charged at 14% per annum from the date of issue to the date paid on any Real Estate or Personal Property tax not received in the Collector’s Office by the due date.  Per Massachusetts law, postmarks are not acceptable (the legal verbiage is clearly written in the center of your tax bill as required by law.  After the fourth quarter due date (May 1st), any outstanding balance will be demanded.  A demand fee of $20.00 [MGL Ch 60:15] will be added. Continued failure to pay in full will result in the securing of a tax lien on the property known as a tax taking.  The final resolution would be foreclosure.  Failure to receive your tax bill will not stay the collection.   If taxes are not paid current  in Holland you can be denied a permit from the various Boards within the Town until such time as your taxes are brought current.  You must make sure the Assessor’s have your correct mailing information   Check here link to assessment data.

Why is Holland billing me for excise tax?
The excise on any particular vehicle is to be assessed at the place where that vehicle is principally kept, i.e., garaged. MGL (CH.60A S6)

I received an excise tax on a car I no longer own – how do I get  an adjustment on this bill?
You must pay the excise tax bill in full by the due date.  If you are entitled to an abatement, you will receive a refund check after the abatement application has been submitted by you and approved by the Board of Assessors.  This can take up to 90 days.   Please contact the Assessor’s office for abatement information at 413 245-7108 ext. 106 or click here.

How do I pay for overdue excise taxes that have been marked at the Registry of Motor Vehicles for non-renewal?
Please contact our Deputy Collector, Jeffery & Jeffery, 137 Main street, Ware, MA 01082-0720, or by phone at 413-967-9941. You may also pay your bill to the Tax Collector.  Overdue bills can only be paid in full with cash, certified check, or money order.  Once payment has been received, your account will be cleared at the Registry of Motor Vehicles so you may renew your license or registration.

What  personal  property is subject to local taxation?
All personal property situated in the commonwealth is subject to tax, unless specifically exempt by law. See Massachusetts GL c. 59, §2. Property is situated in a particular city or town in the commonwealth if it is present on January 1 with the owner's intention that it remain with some degree of permanence. Property that is frequently moved from place to place or intended for use temporarily at different places is considered situated where the owner is an inhabitant or has a principal place of business (if the property is business personal property).

A primary example of exempt property involves household furnishings and effects. Such household personal property at a persons domicile (primary residence) is expressly exempt from personal property tax.GL c. 59, §5, cl. 20. This exemption does not apply to such property located at a second home.

To whom is personal property tax assessed?
The owner of the property as of January 1 preceding the fiscal year is generally the person assessed the tax, under~GL c. 59, §18 & 18, First. In the case of machinery or tangible personal property leased for profit, the tax may also be assessed to the person in possession, under GL c. 59, §18, Second. Personal property of a deceased person may be assessed to the estate or executor.GL c. 59, §18, Third. Jointly owned property may be assessed to one or more of the owners.GL c. 59, §18, Fourth. Partnership property is assessed in the partnership name.GL c. 59, §18, Sixth.

How do I stop getting a personal property bill once I become a fulltime resident?
You should file for an abatement application with the Holland Board of Assessor’s within 30 days of the date of  issue of the 1st half personal property tax bill if you feel you are being taxed unjustly.   The Tax Collector cannot waive fees or adjust your tax bill. Click here to get Assessor's Downloadable Forms

Town of Holland 27 Sturbridge Road, Holland, MA 01521
Phone: 413-245-7108 Fax: 413-245-7037
Hours Vary by Department
Return to Home
Virtual Towns & Schools Website