To obtain or renew a Firearms Identification Permit or License to Carry you must fill out the FID/LTC Application. You may obtain this application by visiting the Firearms Record Bureau section of the official website of the Executive Office of Public Safety and Security and print the (FID) / (LTC) Application. Alternatively, you may pick up a copy at the Police Station or by contacting the Criminal History Systems Board (CHSB) at 617-660-4782. Once you have filled out the application submit it to the Police Department by mail or in person.
After receiving your application we will begin a background check which includes a criminal history and Department of Mental Health check then contact you to schedule an appointment for photographs and finger prints. The entire process can take up to 90 days so if you are renewing a license it is a good idea to submit your application prior to the expiration date. In accordance with chapter 150 of the Acts of 2004 your permit will remain valid for a period of (90) days after the stated expiration date provided the holder applies for renewal prior to the expiration of the LTC / FID, unless the application is denied.
- Included with your application you must submit a copy of your firearms safety certificate or hunter safety course certificate.
- Pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws, any person applying for the issuance of a Firearms Identification Card (FID) pursuant to M.G.L. c.129B, a class A or a Class B License To Carry firearms under § 131 or 131F, or a permit to purchase under § 131A who was not licensed under the provisions of this chapter on June 1, 1998, shall in addition to the requirements set forth in sections 129B, 131, l31A or 13W submit to the licensing authority a Basic Firearms Safety Certificate.
- The Colonel of the Massachusetts State Police shall certify certain persons as Firearms Safety Instructors and shall certify safety course curriculum.
- A certificate issued by the Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife, evidencing the satisfactory completion of a Hunter Safety Course, shall serve as a valid substitute for a basic firearms safety certificate.
- The Holland Police Department has the authority to issue firearms permits to Holland residents or persons who own a business in the Town of Holland.
- Applicants for a License to Carry (LTC) must be at least 21 years old.
- Applicants for a Firearms Identification Card (FID) must be at least 18 years old.
- A person between the ages of 15 and 18 may apply for an FID card provided a letter from the parent giving them permission to have an FID card is written. The letter must be signed by the parent in the presence of the department’s licensing officer or issuing authority.
- All applicants must be U.S. citizens.
In order to be eligible for either permit the applicant may not have ever been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor punishable by more than 2 years in any court of the Commonwealth or any other state or federal jurisdiction. Be advised that there are also several specific convictions and other circumstances which will disqualify an applicant, including but not limited to, individuals who are the subject of a valid Restraining Order- 209A, a Harassment Prevention Order- 258E, and an active arrest warrant.
- Fee's are collected upon filing your application and are non-refundable.
- Only checks or money order accepted, (no cash please). Checks should be made payable to the Town of Holland.
- LTC and FID cards are issued for 6 years.
FID / LTC
- Issue- $100.00
- Renewal- $100.00
- Renewals if over 70 years of age- no fee
Links and Forms: